<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Blogging Bloopers from MaxPower</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.maxpower.ca/blogging-bloopers-from-maxpower/2006/10/19/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.maxpower.ca/blogging-bloopers-from-maxpower/2006/10/19/</link>
	<description>empowered by monkeys</description>
	<pubDate>Sat, 31 Jul 2010 01:17:18 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: Josh</title>
		<link>http://www.maxpower.ca/blogging-bloopers-from-maxpower/2006/10/19/#comment-8041</link>
		<dc:creator>Josh</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 20 Oct 2006 16:58:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.maxpower.ca/blogging-bloopers-from-maxpower/2006/10/19/#comment-8041</guid>
		<description>One day last week, I was excited when I found that a certain domain name was available (I used Network Solutions to search). The next day, before I had a chance to purchase it, the name was registered by NameKing.com, aka Chesterton Holdings. After doing a bit of research, I found that Chesterton Holdings does this regularly and seems to be privvy to inside information that allows them to.

Exactly five days later, when they realized they couldn't profit from parking the name (and, more importantly, just before they actually had to pay for it) they let the name go. While not illegal, this is awfully unethical and ICANN should probably do something about the practice.

The piece that shed the light on Chesterton Holdings and the subject of "domain tasting" for me is &lt;a href="http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,1991365,00.asp"&gt;right here&lt;/a&gt;.

I'm happy to say that I now own the aforementioned domain name. If there's a moral to the story, it's this: Be wary of where you search for and buy domain names. Also, if your dream name is available, snap it up immediately or some nefarious organization will.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>One day last week, I was excited when I found that a certain domain name was available (I used Network Solutions to search). The next day, before I had a chance to purchase it, the name was registered by NameKing.com, aka Chesterton Holdings. After doing a bit of research, I found that Chesterton Holdings does this regularly and seems to be privvy to inside information that allows them to.</p>
<p>Exactly five days later, when they realized they couldn&#8217;t profit from parking the name (and, more importantly, just before they actually had to pay for it) they let the name go. While not illegal, this is awfully unethical and ICANN should probably do something about the practice.</p>
<p>The piece that shed the light on Chesterton Holdings and the subject of &#8220;domain tasting&#8221; for me is <a href="http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,1991365,00.asp" >right here</a>.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m happy to say that I now own the aforementioned domain name. If there&#8217;s a moral to the story, it&#8217;s this: Be wary of where you search for and buy domain names. Also, if your dream name is available, snap it up immediately or some nefarious organization will.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
