First of all, thanks to everyone who has pointed out that there is now a warning from Google about how dangerous ‘MaxPower.ca’ is. I hadn’t noticed. Apparently, if you link to malware sites than your site is also considered malware. So all that needs to happen is that you get a bit of spam that makes its way past the filters and viola, your site is malware worthy. This is what I think has happened here.

Stop Badware

So, how to fix this? I’ve gone through and done a big comment purge but I’m sure there is more. I’ll have to see if there are any super mass editing comment plugins that can help me with this task. Any suggestions?

Second, I’ll have to see if this site actually has been hijacked in someway. Not sure as to the best way of going about this, but so far looking at the page sources for various pages around the site everything appears normal.

If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions they’d be most welcome.

Cheers.

This post has 4 comments.

  1. Altari
    29 Nov 07
    2:51 pm

    Weak sauce. I saw that when I entered through Google, and for a second thought I had picked the wrong site. Good really screwed up this time. Best of luck getting it fixed.

  2. Jennifer
    10 Dec 07
    11:22 am

    Ah - Big Brother Google strikes again! I have had the same problem with my site. Except I am extra careful about the comments - all of them go into moderation. I *did* however find that one of my template files had been hacked - I believe a XSS attack - someone added some code to one of my templates to run if the user was coming from Google. It’s been removed - and to be honest, I can’t imagine it has been there a very long time. But it is INCREDIBLY frustrating how quick Google is to label a site as distributing malware and make it near impossible for people to get to your site from their search results (when a simple fix to hack is all that is required) yet it will take them WEEKS to “review your site” to get you back in. Google is very quickly becoming the web-police and I think it’s in neither in their best interest or place to do so… but they’ll continue to do whatever they want and dictate all that is online so long as the masses think they’re the king. (I disagree and have stopped using them.)

    In any case, sorry for the rant - check your templates very carefully for any code that shouldn’t be there. Also - if you wouldn’t mind, could you email me what plugins you’re using, because I’m suspicious that this vulnerability might be caused by a plugin (I actually run VERY few at the moment!!)

  3. Wooof … nasty.

    I found Dash-Note Plugin in results and *Yick Blechk!* noticed that warning. I’m using Firefox so dared carry on.

    Really sorry you got snagged.

    Any suggestion how we can help clear you?

    best
    –bentrem

  4. I haven’t been here for a long time. Even though I haven’t used any of the great icon packs listed here, I still love to check out the great resources this site offers. Anyway, I was browsing through my bookmarks in Safari and I saw your site. I thought to myself “I love this site. It’s very lean and clean…” then decide to pay this site a visit. Then is happened…

    “Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!

    You can learn more about harmful web content and how to protect your computer at StopBadware.org.

    Suggestions:
    Return to the previous page and pick another result.
    Try another search to find what you’re looking for.
    Or you can continue to http://www.maxpower.ca/free-icons/2006/03/05/ at your own risk.

    If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google’s Webmasters Tools.

    Advisory provided by Google”

    I wasn’t scared to visit the site because I’ve been here before and because I was using my Mac. I decided to to visit the site using Mozilla Camino (Mac) and Firefox (Mac) and Opera (Mac) and I still got the same message. So, I went back to Safari and manually type this website’s address and got me to the free icons section. Then I saw this post. It’s really sad to see this great web resource being label as “malware”. I suggest you try using reCAPTCHA.

    Anyway, thanks for making this site a great resource for webmasters. :)